2006 Schools of Excellence Announced

Posted: May 17th, 2006
CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Twenty-one West Virginia Schools have earned the prestigious Schools of Excellence award for the 2006 – 2007 school year.

The Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, documented student achievement and implementing advanced and innovated programs.

“Rewarding the hard work and dedication of school administrators and teachers is vital as our state increases rigor across the curriculum,” said State Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine. “These schools have continually exceeded the academic bar and they deserve this prestigious recognition.”


Front row (l. to r.) Dr. Steve Paine, State Superintendent of Schools and Lowell Johnson, President, State Board of Education. Second row (l. to r.) Doug Lambert, Superintendent; Lincoln Propst, Principal of BES; and
Jack and Ruth Vogel.
Lincoln Propst, principal at Brandywine, and the state superintendent, Dr. Steve Paine. On the right are Jack Vogel, past Board president and his wife Ruth, a teacher at Brandywine.

The 2006-07 Schools of Excellence are:

Boone County: Jeffery-Spencer Elementary, Sherman Elementary
Braxton County: Davis Elementary
Cabell County: Cammack Elementary
Greenbrier County: White Sulphur Elementary
Harrison County: Lost Creek Elementary
Kanawha County: Midland Trail Elementary, Point Harmony Elementary, Horace Mann Middle
Marion County: East Dale Elementary, Jayenne Elementary
McDowell County: Welch Elementary
Ohio County: Triadelphia Middle School

Pendleton County: Brandywine Elementary

Putnam County: Winfield High School
Raleigh County: Crab Orchard Elementary, Shady Springs Elementary
Upshur County: Washington District Elementary
Wayne County: Ceredo Elementary
Wood County: Blennerhassett Junior High, Parkersburg South High School

Individual school applications were review by a reading panel over a two-day period resulting in 21 site visits. During the site visits, all 21 schools provided each site visitor with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition.

For more information regarding West Virginia Schools of Excellence, please contact Mr. David Perine, Executive Director for the Office of Human Resources, at (304) 558-3401. Visit the West Virginia Department of Education web site.